top of page

Book Worm - Learning from the Ladies


I've been reading a lot. That's my escape in my mind - it's getting into other peoples' minds and being engaged and inspired with their thoughts.

My books of choice the last few weeks have been female comedian writers and role models who have broken through that so called glass ceiling and created a way of self expression. I have learned some interesting things from their writings - from my friends Tina, Amy and Mindy.

  • It doesn't matter what you need to say, it's important to just say it.

I always thought my writing needed to mean something to someone and have some kind of life changing anecdote encrypted. But the reality is when I am unable to withdraw that kind of philosophical genius, I still need an outlet to be creative and be verbose. That's why it's important to write, whether that be a chapter on "what I learned when I was a little too fat.." or a chapter on "humping Justin Timberlake". It doesn't ALWAYS matter (sometimes it does..)

  • Don't take yourself too seriously.

We are all real people with real emotion and real frustration. What I loved most on the way Amy (Poehler of course) writes is you can hear the emotion in her tone. When she went through a great deal of sadness in her life, she expressed it so well through her choice of language. When she gushes about her beautiful boys, talks about Archie's too big head, you can feel the love in the way she articulates description. She doesn't take herself too seriously, she just wants to tell the world how she feels.

  • Sometimes you don't have all the answers - that's ok.

I mean isn't it important we all experience our own selves the way we are meant to? Why are we all looking for the answer to life, when in reality the answer to life is different to each and every one of us. All I know is I want to love, and live, and grow a business and travel the world - that's about all the answers I have. I don't want to pretend to have them all.

  • Be proud of being a strong, powerful, empowered woman - and raise more

We can do it all. We can be whatever we want to be. The limitations on us in this blessed country we live in are placed by ourselves. Break through the limitations and fly, sing, soar - all of those empowering adjectives. I am proud of being a woman who is looked up to. Who may not always be liked but is most definitely respected. I have the power of choice, the ability to lead, the freedom required to live. And I will not take that for granted. I will pay it forward to the generations to come, and I will know that those before me weren't as lucky. They paved the way, and for that I am eternally grateful.

Happy Sunday, Happy Easter.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow 
  • Wix Twitter page
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Blogger Social Icon
bottom of page